Milblogs…

One of the things I hope to do here is call attention to the “best of the best” (IMHO).  Whether it be great books, great websites, or great people, I will try to spotlight the “QUALITY”.  I’ll let Matt Drudge handle the quantity.  😀

With that said, I am a strong supporter of our military, did a little time in the Navy myself (a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away). Without making any political statements, let’s just say we owe an awful lot to these fine young men and women.  There are many milblogs out there today, and one of the best, in my opinion is written by a guy named Michael Yon. Michael is a former Green Beret, and now a very excellent independent journalist and superb photographer who has spent quite a number of years covering both Iraq and Afghanistan.  His work is perhaps the finest of its kind, and he tells it like it is.  His posts are factual and well researched, and  accompanied by very powerful and emotional images.  If you have never heard of him, I urge you to check out his blog at http://www.michaelyon-online.com/ I promise you won’t be disappointed with what you find there.

As an example of some of his excellent work, read this article:  http://www.michaelyon-online.com/do-americans-care-about-british-soldiers.htm It is a splendid story about the dedicated medical staff at Landstuhl hospital in Germany, and also a terrific organization called Soldiers Angels, and the lengths to which these people will go to save the lives of these brave young soldiers wounded on the battlefield.  I was so moved by this article when I read it last year, that I sent a check to both Michael Yon and to Soldiers Angels, and I dang sure couldn’t afford it!  Take the time to check out Michael Yon, and Soldiers Angels.

And before you go, two other first class milblogs worthy of a bookmark are Blackfive and OPFOR

– – Joe – –

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

